The Last Girl Awards Benefit, Oct 11, 2020

 please join us for 
 a virtual conversation between Ruchira Gupta and Gloria Steinem
to celebrate
The Last Girl Awards
honoring champions against sex-trafficking


(FB live link available in India)
Register here

VIP Presenters: Ashley Judd, Ela Bhatt, Mrunal Thakur, Swanee Hunt, Rosanna Arquette,Vinita Belani


  1. The Last Girl Lifetime Inspiration Award-Feminist Leader, Gloria Steinem 
  2. The Last Girl Leadership Award UN Ambassador, Katalin Bogyay 
  3. The Last Girl Champion Award Philanthropist Cheryl Saban 
  4. The Last Girl Compassionate Leadership Award Michelin Chef Vikas Khanna
  5. The Last Girl Cultural Change Award Team Priya and the Lost Girls ComicDipti Mehta, Syd Fini, Neda Kazemifar and Ram Devineni
  6. The Last Girl Changemaker award T Ortiz Pettigrew


Funds raised will provide food and hygiene items to women and
children in India, affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.
$ 100 =100 meals + hygiene items.

Apne Aap’s 1MillionMeals food drive has provided more than 3 million meals to 60,000 women and children since the COVID-19 lockdown.


Read more: Meet the woman providing 1 million meals to victims of sex trafficking amid coronavirus


Every year, Apne Aap honors global leaders who have championed the cause of the most vulnerable girls at risk to sex-trafficking with The Last Girl Abolitionist Award

The Last Girl is the most vulnerable of human beings. She is the 12-year old in a brothel in India or the 19-year old shivering at a street corner in US. She is a poor, female, teenager, most often from an oppressed caste, race, religion or ethnicity. Her multiple marginalizations cut her off from food, housing, legal protection and sustainable and dignified livelihoods. She becomes the easiest prey to traffickers.

The global leaders we select are those who apply their resources-time, money, skills and networks-to stand by The Last Girl with courage, passion and commitment. 

Past honorees have included Freida Pinto, Tabrez Noorani, Richa Chadda, Demi Moore,Mrunal Thakur and David Womark, Simone Monasebian, Nandana Sen, Zoe Blue Sidel, Rosanna Arquette, Sophia Nesamoney, Sybil Robson Orr, S. Mona Sinha, Sandra Woworuntu, Dorchen Leidholdt, Ashley Judd, Fisk Johnson.

The awards function is accompanied with fundraising to benefit The Last Girl in India. The event attracts hundreds of people for a fun and meaningful evening in venues like the United Nations and New York Palace Hotel. Philanthropists, Hollywood actors, Corporate leaders, Diplomats, UN delegates, activists, students, writers and artists gather in support of Apne Aap’s mission to create a world in which no girl or woman is bought or sold.

Sponsorship Deck

For sponsorship enquiries email Deb at




Rosanna Arquette,Ashley Judd,Sybil Orr,Mona Sinha,Nandana Sen



 Ion DelaRiva, Irena  Medavoy, Jounghoon Lee,Ruchira Gupta, MT Carney, Vinita Belani

Past Benefit Highlights

The Last Girl 2019 honoree,Rosanna Arquette and Ruchira Gupta at The Last Girl Award and Benefit 2019


Gloria Steinem with 2019 Abolitionist Honoree , Fisk Johnson


Film screening of Love Sonia on the International Day of the Girl, Benefit 2018

An Evening to Honor Abolitionist, Mona Sinha, with Gloria Steinem, The Last Girl Award Benefit 2017


“The dream is to live in a world in which no human is being bought or sold. That’s what the women and girls of Apne Aap stand for! “

– Ashley Judd, Human Rights activist and Actress, Global Goodwill Ambassador for UNFPA

Because it…aims to strengthen the power of women is empowerment and I believe it is precisely what women need today, not only in Indian society, in other companies too.

– France Minister for Women’s Rights Najat Vallaud–Belkacem

Apne Aap has been at the forefront on this long fight against the social evil of human trafficking in India. I am proud to know Ruchira and her relentless efforts towards fighting against sex trafficking and intergenerational prostitution” 

-Demi Moore, Film Maker and Actress